Irish Angus News

On bank Holiday Monday last, Irish Angus breeders got back into the showring with the staging of the Irish Angus / YDP National Calf Show 2021. With 94 calves entered, competition for the twelve classes promised to be strong and Judges for this event Padraig & Christopher O`Connor were not disappointed.

Taking the honours in the first class of the day on going on to be placed Senior Bull Calf Champion was Berry Tyler, exhibited by Patrick Murphy from Glasson, Athlone. This August `20 born bull is out of a homebred bull Berry Rob and a Goulding Jumbo King dam, Berry Magic. Placed as reserve Senior Bull and winner of class 3 was Drumbeera Tiger Eyes. This bull born on December 21st, 2020 was exhibited by Patrick Beirne from Mohill, Co. Leitrim. Sired by Caulry Nationwide this bulls dam Goulding L Perry is sired by Abberton Eminem.

In the Junior Bull Section, Champion went to the winner of class 5, Mong Ultimate. This HW Ferghal sired bull was exhibited by Joseph Farrell, Leitrim Village, Co. Leitrim. Born March 3rd, `21 this calf is out of a homebred Mogeely Joe bred dam Mong Magnificent. Taking the reserve Junior Bull calf was Steil Ultan 439 for Cathal & JJ McCormack, Tulsk, Co. Roscommon. This winner of class 4 is February `21 born and is sired by Ernehill Rum and out of Steil M Molly, a homebred Aynho Rossiter dam.

In the heifer classes the senior section was dominated by the Gibbons family from Strokestown, Co. Roscommon. Taking the Senior Heifer Champion was Carrowboy Untouchable ET, a January `21 born heifer sired by Rawburn Boss Hog and out of a Bohey Jasper dam Kilteevan Damsel. Carrowboy Tinkerbell was placed as Reserve Senior Heifer Champion again for the Gibbons family. Sired by Portauns Volcano and out of a homebred Mogeely Joe dam Carrowboy Perfect this heifer was born in November `20.

Finally in the Junior Heifer section Overall Champion went to Gerard Regan, Loughglynn, Co. Roscommon with Driney Upper Class. This February `21 born heifer is sired by HF Rebel and is out of a Westellen Diego homebred dam Driney Pamela. Antfield Una took the Reserve Junior Heifer title for Francis & Ronan Cox, Aughamore, Carrick-on-Shannon. Sired by Weeton Diamond Mine this March `21 born heifer is out of Dunlaveymore Fae a Bohey Jasper dam.

Other class winners were:

Class 2        Borrough Twister, exhibited by Seamus Prior, Ballinamore, Co. Leitrim. Born October `20 this bull calf is sired by Liss Brendan.

Class 6        Cloonmurray Underdog born June `21, sired by Tree Bridge Powys and exhibited by Michael Doorley, Strokestown, Co. Roscommon.

Class 7        Newbridge Toyota exhibited by Brendan & Edel McCawley, Dowra, Co. Leitrim. This September `20 heifer is sired by Ardnaree Notoriously.

Class 12     The youngest heifer class went to Stephen & Conor McDermott, Donamon, Co. Roscommon with Oran Unique Ciara. Born April `21 this heifer is sired by HW Farghal.

In the YDP (Youth Development Programme) classes that took place before the Calf classes, the anticipation was high as these young enthusiasts were close to two years waiting to put their showing skills into practice. Judging the thirty competitors over the five classes was Sinead Conry from the “Rathnollig Herd” situated outside Castlerea, Co. Roscommon. Sinead observed preparations pre show and made her final deliberations taking the showring performance into account. The following were the class winners but in truth all participants and friendships made insured all were winners, Liam Farrell, William Woods, Raymond Dockery, Lucy Murray & Aaran Dockery.

After the event, Peadar Glennon General Manager of the Irish Angus Cattle Society thanks all who contributed to making the event so successful, including the exhibitors, spectators and especially Midland & Western Livestock Society for hosting the show. Peadar also congratulated all the young Members who took part in the YDP classes and hoped all had an enjoyable day. Next up for the Irish Angus Society is the Elite Show & Sale in Carrick-on-Shannon on December 11th .

back to top
Year letter for 2024